Noah And The Flood

Scripture: Genesis 6:1-9, NLT

1 Then the people began to multiply on the earth, and daughters were born to them.
2 The sons of God saw the beautiful women and took any they wanted as their wives.
3 Then the LORD said, “My Spirit will not put up with humans for such a long time, for they are only mortal flesh. In the future, their normal lifespan will be no more than 120 years.”
4 In those days, and for some time after, giant Nephilites lived on the earth, for whenever the sons of God had intercourse with women, they gave birth to children who became the heroes and famous warriors of ancient times.
5 The LORD observed the extent of human wickedness on the earth, and he saw that everything they thought or imagined was consistently and totally evil.
6 So the LORD was sorry he had ever made them and put them on the earth. It broke his heart.
7 And the LORD said, “I will wipe this human race I have created from the face of the earth. Yes, and I will destroy every living thing—all the people, the large animals, the small animals that scurry along the ground, and even the birds of the sky. I am sorry I ever made them.”
8 But Noah found favor with the LORD .
9 This is the account of Noah and his family. Noah was a righteous man, the only blameless person living on earth at the time, and he walked in close fellowship with God.

INTRODUCTION

Sin by its very nature is destructive and the antediluvian world that Noah lived in was in a self-destruct mode. The only way for God to save a world from self-destruction is judgment. I call this doctrine Salvation/Judgment. There are two universal judgments in the bible and both wrought SALVATION to man. The first was involved the “Flood” and the second involves the “Blood.” The means of the first was a boat, the Ark, the means of the second was a person, Christ.


Today, I want to talk about the first, the judgment of the flood. This message is constructed around the story of Noah and the Ark. God instructed the patriarch Noah to build a huge boat or barge. This flotation device had no engine, sails, rudder. It had three decks, one window and one door. The interesting thing about the story is the threat of the flood. God warned Noah that a flood was coming due to excessive rain but it had never rained. Rain was unheard of, it had no history. Due to Noah’s respect for God and his faith in God, Noah obeyed the LORD and built an ARK when there was no water to support it. So let’s get into the story and we will begin with….

I. A WICKED WORLD

The world that Noah lived in was unimaginable to Westerners of today. Those living in Africa and the East could better relate…First of all….

  1. It was a DANGEROUS WORLD…twice the scripture says “the earth was filled with violence.” {verses 11, 13}
    • It was a world without churches. If you think our world is bad, try to imagine what it would be like without churches. There is no question that we as the church have failed but if you removed the influence of the church, our society would rot in a hurry. Who fights vice and crime? Who opposes gambling, alcohol and abortion? Who began our colleges and universities? Who planted hospitals and orphanages all over the globe?
    • It was a world without government. I’m talking none, nada, zilch. No police force, no militia, no army, no judges, no law enforcement at all–none. You think crime is bad now; remove all law enforcement and see what happens.
    • It was a world controlled by crime. Keil and Delitzsch believe that the world was controlled by these “heroes” or “warriors” mentioned in verse 4. It was run by organized crime. In other words, it was a frightening world. Noah was the last of the Sethites, those who feared God–all the rest had died or had been murdered.
  2. It was a DEPRAVED WORLDThe LORD observed the extent of human wickedness on the earth, and he saw that everything they thought or imagined was consistently and totally evil.

    The second thing I call your attention to is….

II. A GRIEVING GOD

Note verse 6, So the LORD was sorry he had ever made them and put them on the earth. It broke his heart. The AV, which I grew up on, reads….And it repented the LORD that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart.

The NIV reads…The LORD regretted that he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was deeply troubled.

Classical theism affirms that God is dispassionate, they He cannot be moved by human emotions or feelings. Therefore He cannot be grieved with man’s actions but Jesus was anything but dispassionate. Jesus was compassionate. He wept at the tomb of Lazarus. He lamented over Jerusalem. As a matter of fact the word used in Luke 19:41 means to wail which is a violent form of weeping. The kind of weeping we do when the death angel strikes.

Although God is self-sufficient and has no needs, He chooses to love us and where there is love, there is grief. Grief is the price we pay for love. Because sin hurts us, God grieves when we sin. Indifference laughs and scoffs but love grieves because it cares deeply.

Genesis 6:6 is the John 3:16 of the old testament. For God so loved the world, it grieved Him when sin began to destroy it. Let me share a story, a true experience that will help you grasp this point.

Growing up, I was very rebellious. I was not mean. I did not like nor enjoy hurting things. I did not torture animals or anything of that nature but I had a hard time with rules and I didn’t like anyone telling me what to do. My mother was a good woman, ultra Victorian, very strict. She did not believe in sparing the rod nor spoiling the child. One day {I was 15 or so} she was beating me for being disobedient and I got angry. I did not hit her but I stood erect and refused to cry. I also looked at her with as much contempt as I could muster under those conditions. She did something that day that she had never done before, she stopped whipping me. Then she collapsed on the ground and began to sob. Her weeping was hurting more than the switch. 

I stood there like a hardened criminal. Then I heard her say, “Son, rather than see you grow up and act like a stubborn fool, I had rather you not been born.” That got my attention. I walked away to lick my wounds so to speak but what she said stuck in my hard head. It remained an unsolvable mystery until years later, I read Genesis 6:6 and the truth hit me like a bolt of lightening. My mother knew that ultimately, rebels end up in hell and she was afraid that is where I was headed. When she said, “I wish you had not been born,” she was not saying “I don’t love you,” she was saying the opposite. It was the ultimate expression of a mother’s love. She would rather forfeit the privilege of motherhood rather than see me go to hell.


If God did not love us: He would not care what we do…


III. A MAN NAMED NOAH

This is the account of Noah and his family. Noah was a righteous man, the only blameless person living on earth at the time, and he walked in close fellowship with God. {Genesis 6:9}

  • Noah was a godly man. [verse 9]
  • He was without blame among the people. [verse 9]
  • He walked with God.[verse 9]
  1. Noah’s ObedienceNoah did everything exactly as God commanded him. {6:22, 7:5}
  2. Noah’s Sermons: He did not spare the ancient world when he brought the flood on its ungodly people, but protected Noah, a preacher of righteousness, and seven others.
  3. Noah’s Salvation: Noah went into the Ark and “The Lord Closed the door behind him.” {Genesis 7:16}

CONCLUSION

John 10:7-9 {NKJV}

Then Jesus said to them again, “Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.
8 All who ever came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them.
9 I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.
Jesus is the ARK, Jesus is the Door. He is the means and He is the way. He is the ONLY door. He is a timely door. He is open now, may not be open tomorrow.


I ran cross country in college. I loved and admired our coach. I never heard him use any foul or off color language. I assumed he was a Christian. One late Saturday night as we drove home from a meet in South Alabama, I asked him about church and I was stunned at his answer. He said, “I don’t attend church. I should but I don’t. I do believe a person has to repent and trust Jesus but I am not ready to do that at this time. Some day I plan to be saved, to join a church but right now is not a good time for me.” I trembled at his response. He treated salvation like a loaf of bread, something he could go to the market and get anytime he wanted.


God’s word teaches us that God has to draw us {John 6:44}… No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up at the last day. Look at Genesis 6:3, And the Lord said, “My Spirit shall not strive with man forever, for he is indeed flesh; yet his days shall be one hundred and twenty years.”
Leave a Reply

