Dealing With A Tragic Death

Scripture: Job 1:18-22

18 While he was still speaking, another messenger arrived with this news: “Your sons and daughters were feasting in their oldest brother’s home.
19 Suddenly, a powerful wind swept in from the wilderness and hit the house on all sides. The house collapsed, and all your children are dead. I am the only one who escaped to tell you.”
20 Job stood up and tore his robe in grief. Then he shaved his head and fell to the ground to worship.
21 He said, “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The LORD gave me what I had, and the LORD has taken it away. Praise the name of the LORD !”
22 In all of this, Job did not sin by blaming God.

INTRODUCTION

Death, in and of itself, is hard to deal with. I try never to make light of death. It marks the end of our life here on earth and it constitutes a separation. My parents are no longer in this world of death and sin: they have moved to the world beyond. I miss them and the longer I live the more I miss them. 


As difficult as it is to deal with sickness, cancer and prolonged illness, I think tragedy is harder to cope with. First of all, tragedy strikes with no warning. Our love ones are suddenly snatched away from us and usually the tragedy that took their lives is unexplainable. It is impossible for us to make sense of tragedy.

A few months ago, I couldn’t not have told you I know how you feel but last August 15, I had beautiful niece get killed in a tragic automobile accident in Ardmore, TN. The worse thing about the whole affair is that it made no sense. She was a good kid but she was riding with a boy who was showing off: She begged him to stop and let her out but he refused and then he hit a tree: she was killed instantly and he barely got a scratch. I was very upset. I am still upset. Rarely does a day go by that I don’t think of Kaley who was only 16 years old.


Job understood that LIFE is a GIFT. It is God who gives us life and breath. Everything we have is a gift from Him. He satisfies every need. From one man he created all the nations throughout the whole earth. “His purpose was for the nations to seek after HIM and perhaps feel their way toward Him and find Him—though He is not far from any one of us.

For in Him we live and move and exist. Job understood this, life is a gift from God, the LORD gives….


But Job also said, …The LORD takes away. We don’t know why some die tragically, or young but far beyond our ability to comprehend, there is a plan, a purpose and although life here ceases, life itself does not. John Newton’s last words were: “I am still in the land of the dying, but I am going to the land of the living.” God is not the God of the dead but of the living. He who dwells in eternity knows no death. God is not surrounded by death: everything in His presence is alive. He simply takes life from the clay body, from the mortal and puts it in the immortal.


The Lord gives, the Lord takes away, blessed be the name of the LORD. The one thing we know for sure is, “We are not in control.” There is someone above us, someone far greater than we ourselves. He is the Eternal One, Yahweh is His name. He is the self-existent, eternal, unchanging God. The same yesterday, today and forever and He deserves our worship.

Leave a Reply

