Psalms 116:15

Scripture: Psalms 116:15

Precious in the sight of the Lord Is the death of His saints.

INTRODUCTION

In Hebrew, this verse contains 5 words but they are five powerful words. O that I could put so much substance into five words.

The first word Precious in yaqar [ya’car] and it is in reference to the value of a gem, a precious stone. God places great value on the death of His saints. I normally use the NLT and it reads…The LORD cares deeply when his loved ones die. God places great value on the life of a saint. The blood of the martyrs is precious to God. The blood of Able still speaks, after 6,000 years, the blood of Able is still precious to God. God cares about our life. He cares when innocent life it taken by violence and brutality. God also cares when one of His saints departs this world from natural causes. Blondie promotion is precious to Him.

Whatever is precious to Him should be precious to us.

Note secondly: THE DEATH OF THE SAINT IN PRECIOUS IN THE LORD’S SIGHT. The world does not value the death of a Saint but God does. It is very important that we look at Blondi’s physical death from God’s perspective.

Jesus said in Matthew 7:11… If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him! Here Jesus compares earthly fathers to our Heavenly Father. This is the key, we must remember that God is not some distant deity, some impersonal force way out there who doesn’t care, someone who has no feelings or sympathy for our condition, He is our heavenly Father. He cares infinitely more about us than our earthy parents. My mother and father loved me: I know they did but my heavenly Father loves me more.

So lets look at the death of a Saint from our Heavenly Father’s perspective.

[1] THE DEATH OF A SAINT IS A HOMECOMING. I came from a family of 7 children. Actually, there were 8 but my oldest brother died as an infant. Of the seven, I was the only one who lived away from home. When we were in Seminary at New Orleans, we came home every time we got a chance but that wasn’t often. Our arrival at home was precious to my folks. Our heavenly Father rejoices when one of His children comes home. It is precious to Him. We don’t see Blondie as a child but to God, she is a child come home.

[2] THE DEATH OF A SAINT IS A PROMOTION. Paul said in Philippians 1:21, For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain. I like to translate it like this, For me to live is Christ and to die is a promotion.

[3] THE DEATH OF A SAINT IS A GRADUATION. Our earthly sojourn is done. Our boot camp is over. Blondi’s sorrow and suffering are over. Watching a love one suffer is never easy. The precious thing about Blondi’s promotion is no more suffering, no more sorrow, no more disappointment, no more heart break.

[4] THE DEATH OF A SAINT IS A CORONATION. Paul said in 2 Timothy 4…For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give [award] to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing. Blondi is getting her crown of righteousness.

[5] THE DEATH OF A SAINT IS A CELEBRATION: Paul said, “I have finished the race.” Blondi has crossed the finish line. I have participated in a lot of races and the finish line is always a wonderful place of celebration. I still remember my first marathon: it was a very cold day. The conditions were miserable and I was struggling but as I neared the finish line, I heard crowds cheering, my grandson who was five came out and ran the last 100 yards with me. There were people waiting to to take hold of me as soon as I crossed. A PA system was calling out my name. It was a big deal but nothing compared to what Blondi is experiencing. What a celebration. We sorrow today but not as those who have no hope. In light of our faith and this promise, “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of His saints,” we join the heavenly celebration.

CONCLUSION

Note the text: “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of His saints.” Death in and of itself is not precious. There is nothing precious about the death of an unbeliever. Death is precious only for the saints. Blondi was a believer in Jesus Christ, she could say…

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters.

3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me

5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever.

Can you make this affirmation today, THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD?

If not this is how the Psalm would read for you…

1 The Lord is not my shepherd; I do what I want.
He does not make me to lie down in green pastures; He does not lead me beside the still waters.
3 He does not restore my soul; He does not leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.
4 When I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will walk alone; I don’t need the LORD in life or death; I don’t need His word nor His Spirit to comfort me. I am on my own.
5 He is not preparing a table for me and He will not anoint my head with oil; My cup will never run over.
6 Surely goodness and mercy will not follow me and I will not dwell in the house of the Lord ever.
 

Surely, this is not your affirmation today. If the LORD Jesus is not your shepherd, make Him your shepherd today by repentance and faith.

 

Leave a Reply

