Excuses

Scripture: Luke 14:15-24, NLT

15 Hearing this, a man sitting at the table with Jesus exclaimed, “What a blessing it will be to attend a banquet in the Kingdom of God!”
16 Jesus replied with this story: “A man prepared a great feast and sent out many invitations.
17 When the banquet was ready, he sent his servant to tell the guests, ‘Come, the banquet is ready.’
18 But they all began making excuses. One said, ‘I have just bought a field and must inspect it. Please excuse me.’
19 Another said, ‘I have just bought five pairs of oxen, and I want to try them out. Please excuse me.’
20 Another said, ‘I now have a wife, so I can’t come.’
21 “The servant returned and told his master what they had said. His master was furious and said, ‘Go quickly into the streets and alleys of the town and invite the poor, the crippled, the blind, and the lame.’
22 After the servant had done this, he reported, ‘There is still room for more.’
23 So his master said, ‘Go out into the country lanes and behind the hedges and urge anyone you find to come, so that the house will be full.
24 For none of those I first invited will get even the smallest taste of my banquet.’”

INTRODUCTION

Tonight, we are going to talk about excuses. Billy Sunday said, “An excuse is a shin of a reason stuffed with a lie.” Ben Franklin said, “Those who are good at making excuses are seldom good at anything else.” Ben was right. There is a commercial on TV where the guy says, “When I was a child, I made myself a promise that I would never grow up.” A lot of people have made such a promise. Have you noticed how difficult it is these days to get anyone to take ownership for a mistake: we are a generation of excuse makers: nothing is our fault, we have an excuse for everything.


Excuses For Not Attending Church

  • Too many hypocrites
  • It’s too boring
  • I’m too busy
  • Too much drama
  • Too many people {I am an introvert}
  • I’m too messed up, they don’t want me
  • It’s too cold, I freeze to death
  • It’s too close to drive and too far to walk
  • I don’t have the time, I work
  • I don’t have anything to wear
  • I don’t need church, I can pray at home
  • I don’t know anyone there
  • I don’t like organized religion
  • I don’t feel welcome
  • I don’t fit in
  • I don’t get anything out of it
  • All they want is my money
  • Sunday is my only day to rest
  • I’m afraid the roof will fall in

 

 

Successful people make adjustments, changes and plans: irresponsible people make excuses. I can tolerate a person who makes mistakes, I make tons of mistakes myself but I have little patience with those who make excuses.


You will never improve your lot in life by making excuses. It is like cheating at golf. When you play alone and you don’t count your shots correctly, you will never improve. That’s how a lot of people live, they don’t count their shots, they don’t discipline themselves and they never improve.

WHAT ABOUT THE EXCUSES IN THE STORY?

I. THEY WERE ALL COMPLICIT {They all began making excuses}

It is not just one person making an excuse, it is one after the other. It’s like there is a conspiracy to insult the HOST. As I noted about, excuse making is very common these days. Perhaps these men had discussed the banquet. Maybe they had talked with each other and all decided to decline the invitation. Obviously, it was a widespread problem and not one isolated case.

II. THEY ALL LAME {Not really good excuses}

  1. I just bought a field and must go inspect it.” Most folks in real estate do not buy a piece of property without inspecting it first. This man’s excuse doesn’t hold water. What kind of businessman would do such a thing, especially an aristocratic Jew. They did not get wealthy by making lame decisions. There is no doubt: this man has seen the property that he purchased or else he had not made payment.
  2. “I have just bought five pairs of oxen and I want to try them out.” Again, we have a fishy excuse. He just bought them but did not try them out before the purchase. Do you buy a car without test driving it first? Either this man is a horrible business man or else he is making a lame excuse.
  3. “I now have a wife, so I can’t come.” This is the lamest of the lame. He’s either extremely henpecked or else he is hiding behind her skirt. He is either using her or blaming her, one or the other. In either case, he is not much of a man. Speaking of lame excuses, did you hear about the neighbor who went next door to borrow a lawnmower. His neighbor told him “No, I have to go to town.” The poor dejected man said, “What does you going to town have to do with me using your mower?” Said the stingy neighbor, “Absolutely nothing, but If I do not want you borrowing my mower, one excuse is as good as another.”

III. THEY ARE ALL UNACCEPTABLE

The HOST did not except their excuses.

  1. The first man said, “I’ve bought a field and I must inspect it.” Must? Who was forcing him? This man felt a sense of urgency about tending to his business rather than accommodating the HOST.
  2. The second gets just a tab more honest…”I have bought five pair of oxen I want to try them out.” This man made it clear that he had rather seek his own interest than to appease the HOST.
  3. The third said, “I now have a wife and I can’t come.” This man was the most pathetic of all, he felt impotent, “I can’t come, I have a wife.”

All three are preoccupied with their own personal interest and refuse to HONOR THE HOST by putting their business on hold. They were saying in effect: “My business is more important than your business.”

CONCLUSION

Alexander MacLaren said, “This world has gone crazy, its like an asylum filled with lunatics who don’t know right from wrong. We can’t discern hat is valuable and what is not, our bad decisions are evidence of an epidemic of insanity on this planet.”

We have the truth right here {bible} and we preach it three times a week but not one is knocking down doors to get in. If we were giving away “Lottery Tickets,” we would have to have law enforcement to keep chaos from breaking out. They would tear the doors down to get in. If we really wanted to up the attendances, we could give away a new car, a UTV or a big screen TV every week.

What am I saying? This world craves the wrong things, we value the wrong things. We place a lot more value on money than we do truth. We place more value on the worlds good than we do heavens.

We can make all the excuses we want but none will be accepted by HEAVEN’S HOST.

Leave a Reply

