Accountability

Scripture: Luke 10:13-20, NLT

13 “What sorrow awaits you, Korazin and Bethsaida! For if the miracles I did in you had been done in wicked Tyre and Sidon, their people would have repented of their sins long ago, clothing themselves in burlap and throwing ashes on their heads to show their remorse. 14 Yes, Tyre and Sidon will be better off on judgment day than you. 15 And you people of Capernaum, will you be honored in heaven? No, you will go down to the place of the dead.”

16 Then he said to the disciples, “Anyone who accepts your message is also accepting me. And anyone who rejects you is rejecting me. And anyone who rejects me is rejecting God, who sent me.

17 When the seventy-two disciples returned, they joyfully reported to him, “Lord, even the demons obey us when we use your name!”

18 “Yes,” he told them, “I saw Satan fall from heaven like lightning!19 Look, I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you. 20 But don’t rejoice because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered in heaven.”

21 At that same time Jesus was filled with the joy of the Holy Spirit, and he said, “O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, thank You for hiding these things from those who think themselves wise and clever, and for revealing them to the childlike. Yes, Father, it pleased you to do it this way.

22 “My Father has entrusted everything to me. No one truly knows the Son except the Father, and no one truly knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.

23 Then when they were alone, he turned to the disciples and said,“Blessed are the eyes that see what you have seen.24 I tell you, many prophets and kings longed to see what you see, but they didn’t see it. And they longed to hear what you hear, but they didn’t hear it.”

INTRODUCTION

Every sermon should have an introduction and a good story relating to the point is a great way to introduce a sermon. Today, I have neither. I have studies the scripture and I have three points of interest that help me and I hope will be a help to you.

I. WE ARE ACCOUNTABLE FOR OPPORTUNITIES PRESENTED

Jesus made His headquarters in Capernaum, home of four of his twelve disciples. Capernaum is on the North side of the sea of Galilee and very close to Korazin and Bethsaida. Obviously, Jesus spent more time in these towns than in others. These people heard more sermons, saw more miracles than other cities. In spite of all Jesus signs and wonders in  these towns, none of the three repented. As a whole they rejected Christ.

Some have the idea that can close our minds to receiving truth and somehow that will make us unaccountable but this is not what Jesus is saying. Jesus presented the truth, but these three communities were not listening. As a whole, they rejected the truth.

Jesus went a step further: if you reject my servants, you are rejecting My Father in heaven. “Anyone who accepts your message is also accepting Me. And anyone who rejects you is rejecting Me. And anyone who rejects Me is rejecting God, who sent Me.

II. OUR GREATEST CAUSE FOR JOY IS NOT IN WHAT WE DO FOR CHRIST BUT WHAT HE DOES FOR US.

The disciples returned, they joyfully reported to him, “Lord, even the demons obey us when we use your name!”

Dr. Warren Wiersbe points out something I messed: we have three things to rejoice in and they ascend in value.

  1. FIRST, WE REJOICE OVER OUR SERVICE. What a joy it is to please Jesus. The disciples obediently obeys Jesus, went out by faith and came back rejoicing. We have an unhappy church because we have an disobedient church. There is great joy in obeying Christ. Great joy in being a herald of the good news.
  2. SECONDLY, WE REJOICE IN OUR SALVATION...Jesus said, “Don’t rejoice because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered in heaven.”
  3. THIRDLY, WE REJOICE FOR THE SAME REASON JESUS REJOICED…IN THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD AND HIS PERFECT PLAN. There is a lot I don’t know but there are some things that I can count on…things I am certain of… (1) Christ kingdom will come and His will, will be done.(2) No one can stop His Kingdom; not diabolical satanic evil nor depraved and incompetent mankind. No one has the power to sabotage God’s Kingdom. Satan may win a victory in a local church now and then but he does not have a prayer when it comes to overthrowing God’s kingdom. This truth gives me great joy. (3) Regardless of my estate, God remains just forever. The devil constantly accuses me. He tells me that I am not loved by the Father, I am not among the chosen, that my life has been a waste, that no one sees Christ in me and that I am nothing other than a big hypocrite. Sometimes I get tired of dealing with him and just tell him, “You may be right about me but you are wrong about Jesus. He is God’s son and when the dust settled, you will be a defeated foe.” Then I rejoice in that truth. I agree with Dr. Wiersbe, the highest form of rejoicing is to rejoice in the Sovereignty of God.

III. WE DO NOT RELATE TO GOD ON THE BASES OF INTELLECT–SPIRITUAL TRUTH IS REVEALED

At that same time Jesus was filled with the joy of the Holy Spirit, and he said, “O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, thank You for hiding these things from those who think themselves wise and clever, and for revealing them to the childlike. Yes, Father, it pleased you to do it this way.

In getting to know God, there are rules of engagement:

  1. We must approach God humbly. God loathes pride. It was pride that turned an angel into a devil.
    • So anyone who becomes as humble as this little child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven. (Matt. 18:4)
    • But those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted. (Matt. 23:12)
    • For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” (Luke 14:11, 18:14)
    • Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. (Philippians 2:3)
    • “God opposes the proud but favors the humble.” (James 4:6)
    • Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up in honor. (James 4:10)
    • And all of you, serve each other in humility, for but favors the humble. (I Peter 5:5)
    • So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor. (I Peter 5:6)
    • What sorrow for those who are wise in their own eyes and think themselves so clever. (Isaiah 5:21)
  2. Intellect and knowledge can help us know about God but only through revelation can we know God intimately.
  3. You cannot know God a part from Christ. The only way God can give Himself to you in through Christ. The Jewish Religious leaders pretended to know and love God. Jesus denounced them as hypocrites. Jesus said,  “If God were your Father, you would love me, because I have come to you from God. I am not here on my own, but he sent me…. For you are the children of your father the devil, and you love to do the evil things he does.”

CONCLUSION

22 “My Father has entrusted everything to Me. No one truly knows the Son except the Father, and no one truly knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.

If you pretend to know God, yet you have rejected Christ–you are deceived. The only way to know the Father is through the Son.

Leave a Reply

