Blessed Are The Pure In Heart

The reredos in St Stephen's Church, Bournemouth.
The reredos in St Stephen’s Church, Bournemouth. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. [Matthew 5:8]

INTRODUCTION:

Of all the beattitudes, this one facinates me most. Each beattitude has a principle and a corrosponding result if that principle is obeyed.

    • The poor in spirit will inherit the kingdom of heaven
    • Those that mourn will be comforted
    • The meek will inherit the earth
    • The hungry will be filled
    • The merciful will obtain mercy
    • The pure in heart will see God, Wow!

This beattitude, especially the promise, fills my mind with wonder. How can I see God? Moses wanted to see God but God would not allow it…We find this in Exodus 33:17-23

17 The Lord replied to Moses, “I will indeed do what you have asked, for I look favorably on you, and I know you by name.” 18 Moses responded, “Then show me your glorious presence.” 19 The Lord replied, “I will make all my goodness pass before you, and I will call out my name, Yahweh, before you. For I will show mercy to anyone I choose, and I will show compassion to anyone I choose. 20 But you may not look directly at my face, for no one may see me and live.” 21 The Lord continued, “Look, stand near me on this rock. 22 As my glorious presence passes by, I will hide you in the crevice of the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. 23 Then I will remove my hand and let you see me from behind. But my face will not be seen.”

Today I want to say two things about the principle: Blessed are the Pure in Heart and then three about the promise

1.  FIRST THE PRINCIPLE–PURITY OF HEART [What does it mean?]

For one thing: Purity of heart may be referring to the Mind

    • I have always assumes that the pure in heart are those who have a clean mind. David said in Psalm 51, “Create in me a clean heart, O God.”
    • In Psalm 101 David made a contract with his eyes…He said-“I will set nothing wicked before my eyes.” The NASB says “I will set nothing worthless before my eyes.” The NLT really gets clear, “I will set nothing vile or vulger before my eyes.”
    • [Aside] They say that women have cleaner minds than men because they change them more often.
    • I study a lot and of course that involves reading and I cannot read a thing without my glasses. I keep tissue and a tiny bottle of lens cleaner on my desk. I clean my glasses two or three times a day. I cannot see clearly with dirty lens.
    • Our minds are like a computer. I can tell you what’s in my computer, what someone put in it, either the programmer or myself. Our minds have a hard drive and especially images can be burned into that hard drive is seconds. There is an old saying, “Garbage in, garbage out”. You must guard your mind. Discipline yourself to think pure thoughts.
    • This may seem to be an unrealistic goal but by God’s grace, we can move toward pure thinking. Holiness is transparency. A holy person can speak their mind and not be compromised. Jesus could say anything that was on His mind and not compromise who He was in anyway. He was totally transparent. There was no guile in Him. He did no acting.

A second thing: Purity of heart may be speaking of Motive

    • The pure in heart have a single motive…to Glorify God, Honor Christ
    • The pure in heart have no duplicity, no double mind…they are like lasers
    • To see God, one has to focus…remove all the distractions

2.  THE PROMISE–THEY SHALL SEE GOD

We see God in manifestations [a manifestation is an event, action, or object that clearly shows or embodies something else]

    • Moses saw God in a burning bush [a natural thing]…He did not literally see God but He saw His glory which is a manifestation of God. I saw God in Niagrua Falls. I have never sensed His awesome nature more than when I climbed out of the car and looked at those massive falls.
    • The Disiciples saw God in Christ. Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.” 9 Jesus replied, “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and yet you still don’t know who I am? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father!
    • We see God in Scripture
    • We see God in Israel…A king asked one of his court servants, “Can you show me any proofs of God?” The servant said, “The nation Israel, my lord.” There are two things that this evil world has been trying to destroy since eden: [1] The word of God [2] the people of God and both are still with us.
    • I see God in American History…do you? Million do not but that is because they have never seen God in Christ reconciling the world unto Himself.

Leave a Reply

